Each year, the Louisiana State Bar Association holds the Pro Bono Publico & Children’s Law Awards to celebrate those attorneys and other public interest professionals who have gone beyond their professional duties to provide or support pro bono services. Their work, ever more critical during the instability of pandemic, helps ensure that those without the means to hire an attorney can nevertheless access justice through our legal system.

The LSBA is pleased to announce that the following individuals will be honored with the listed awards:

Children’s Law Award
Ramona G. Fernandez, Southeast Louisiana Legal Services Child in Need of Care Unit

Law Student Pro Bono Award
Abeer M. Farid, Southern University Law Center
Constantino Raya, Jr., Tulane University School of Law
Cara Sullivan Tippett, Louisiana State University Paul M. Hebert Law Center
Jimmy Whitehead, Loyola University College of Law

Friend of Pro Bono Award
Kathleen A. Crapanzano, MD, MACM
Lindsay Meador Young

Pro Bono Publico Award
Patricia R. Bonneau
Andretta Breaux Atkins
Kyle M. Brennan
Jonathan T. Jarrett
Derrick McCorey
Robert A. McKnight
LaKendra D. Sampson
Frances M. Strayham
James J. Zito

LA.FreeLegalAnswers.org Award
Brian R. Johnson

Century Club Award
Kyle M. Brennan
W. Scott Brown
Joseph J. Cerise
Philip A. Franco
Ana E. Lopez
Derrick McCorey
Robert A. McKnight
Alysson L. Mills
Beau P. Sagona
Hugh R. Straub
James J. Zito

Career Public Interest Award
Andrea M. Jeanmarie

David A. Hamilton Lifetime Achievement Award
Christopher K. Ralston