skip to content

LawHelp Interactive Resource Center

With funding from the Legal Services Corporation (LSC) Technology Initiative Grants (TIG) program, Ohio State Legal Services Association (OSLSA) and Pro Bono Net (PBN) offer in-person trainings on creating online forms for the LawHelp Interactive community. These trainings are free to participating legal aid programs and their eligible partners.

Next Training

Our next LHI developer training will be in online mode and take place  September 15th through October 27th. Sessions will be held every Tuesday at noon for two hours.

To access the recordings from last year's online sessions visit here.  Two supplemental A2J Author 5.0 sessions also held in conjunction with last fall's online developer training and were taught by Ms. Jessica Bolack Frank. The recordings from these sessions are available as follows: Day 1: and Day 2:

We are also planning to hold a live training in January 2016 directly preceding the LSC TIG Conference. We will open registration around October 2015.


We will just be offering a beginner track this fall, where emphasis will be on HotDocs template development, but A2J Guided Interview development will also be covered. The beginner track training faculty include trainers from Capstone Practice Systems as well as Alex Rabanal and Jessica Bolack Frank of the Center for Access to Justice & Technology at Chicago-Kent College of Law.


Registration is now closed for the fall 2015 online training. Check back in for registration details for the January 2016 live training.

Again this training is free to legal aid organizations and their eligible partners. Participants are responsible for their hotel and travel costs when applicable.

Syllabus/Agendas for Trainees

A sample syllabus for the beginner training is available here. Please note the syllabus is subject to change.

Technical Requirements

Download HotDocs Developer 11 and register for A2J Author 5.0 for the training. You will need a laptop with A2J Author and HotDocs programs on it for the training. You will need a reliable internet connection, speakers and a microphone for the online sessions which will be conducted using GoToMeeting software. In addition, if you use a mouse when using your computer or laptop, please use one for the training.

Homework to be Completed before the Training
  • Install HotDocs Developer 11: if your program needs to purchase a HotDocs Developer license from the HotDocs Corporation, please read this before purchasing a license.
  • Go through HotDocs Developer Tutorial Chapter 1, lessons 1 – 4.
  • Think about project; be prepared to talk.
  • Register for the LHI listservs and the LHI Resource Center (also known as "DAsupport")
  • Register as a Template Provider (Choose account type "Template Provider." Enter and submit the appropriate information. You will receive an e-mail when you have been approved).
  • Download a copy of the Montana Petition for Divorce from here (This is a document we will automate as a group during the live training).
  • Download a copy of New York Consumer Debt Answer Form from here (This is a second document we will automate during the live training).
  • Register for A2J Author 5.0 by visiting and signing up (You'll get an email with further instructions once you have been authenticated).

For questions about the training, please contact Mirenda Meghelli at or Claudia Johnson,

Last updated  9/2/2015

Pro Bono and legal aid attorney resources - Pro Bono Net

LHI Partners

Logo For Ohio Legal Services Association

Logo for Legal Services Corporation

Logo for HotDocs

Logo for A2J

LawHelp Interactive recognized as

Logo for InnovAction 2010 Winner