skip to content

Celebrate Pro Bono

Fundraisers

One thing the past National Celebrations of Pro Bono have established is that lawyers know how to have a good time for a good cause. Across the country various fundraising programs were held to generate income for pro bono and legal services programs. The creativity of program planners resulted in some excellent, replicable models that can be used to generate income for program initiatives. Examples include:

Parties and Receptions


Event Title:
Fund Drive for Legal Aid
Sponsoring Organization: Puget Sound Energy Legal Department
Location: Bellevue, Washington
Contact Information: Kendall Cammermeyer, kendall.cammermeyer@pse.com


Event Title:
Appleseed presents "Raising the Pro Bono Bar"
Sponsoring Organization: Latham & Watkins LLP
Location: Washington, District of Columbia
Contact Information: Nakia Kelly, nkelly@appleseednetwork.org


Event Title:
21st Annual Justice for All Ball
Sponsoring Organization: The Pro Bono Project
Location: New Orleans, Louisiana
Contact Information: Rachel Piercey, rpiercey@probono-no.org


Athletic Events

Event Title: Ninth Annual Halloween Run For Justice

Sponsoring Organizations: Cleveland Metropolitan Bar Association, Legal Aid Society Of Cleveland Volunteer Lawyers Program

Location: Cleveland, OH

Contact Information: Rita Klein, rklein@clemetrobar.org

Event Title: Celebrate Pro Bono Week 5K Run/Walk

Sponsoring Organization: Delaware Volunteer Legal Services

Location: Wilmington, DE

Contact Information:Tom McDonough, tmcdonough@dvls.org


2009 Events

Event Title:
Bench-Bar Halloween Run for Justice
Sponsoring Organization: Cleveland Metropolitan Bar Association
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Contact Information: Mary Groth, mgroth@clemetrobar.org


Auctions

Event Title: 12th Annual HOPE Auction

Sponsoring Organization: University of Miami HOPE Public Interest Resource Center

Location: Coral Gables, FL

Contact Information: HOPE Public Interest Resource Center,umhope@law.miami.edu

Event Title: Texas Wesleyan School of Law Fellowship Auction

Sponsoring Organization:Texas Wesleyan School of Law

Location: Fort Worth, TX

Contact Information: Patti Gearhart Turner, pturner@law.txwes.edu


2009 Events

Event Title:
Champions for Justice Bash
Sponsoring Organization: Erie County Bar Association Volunteer Lawyers Project; Legal Services for the Elderly
Location: Buffalo, New York
Contact Information: Christine Biggie, cbiggie@wnylc.com


Musical Events

Event Title: Annual WE CARE Italian Feast

Sponsoring Organization: Nassau County Bar Association

Location: Mineola, NY

Contact Information: Elaine Leventhal eleventhal@nassaubar.org


2009 Events

Event Title:
Pro Bono Rocks!
Sponsoring Organization: Pro Bono Center of the Allegheny County Bar Foundation
Location: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contact Information: Barbara Griffin, bgriffin@acba.org


Unique Events

Event Title:Faculty vs. Students Inflatable Jousting & Cornhole Tournaments Fundraiser

Sponsoring Organization: University of Akron School of Law

Location: Akron, OH

Contact Information: J. Dean Carro, Esq, carro1@uakron.edu


Event Title: Go CASUAL for JUSTICE: Jeans Day Fundraiser
Sponsoring Organization: DC National Pro Bono Celebration Week Planning Committee
Location: Washington, District of Columbia
Contact Information: Erin Martell, erin.martell@dechert.com

Event Title: Campaign For Justice Phonathon

Sponsoring Organization: Legal Aid Society

Location: Nashville, TN

Contact Information: Cindy Durham, cdurham@las.org

Event Title: Pro Bonothon

Sponsoring Organization: Nassau County Bar Association

Location: Mineola, NY

Contact Information: Elaine Leventhal eleventhal@nassaubar.org


2009 Events

Event Title:
1st Annual Charleston County Bar Association Student Division Oyster Roast
Sponsoring Organization: Charleston County Bar Association Student Division; Charleston Pro Bono Legal Services
Location: Charleston, South Carolina
Contact Information: Ginny Howell, vzhprobono@bellsouth.net


Event Title:
Nassau County Bar Association Fund ProBonothon 2009
Sponsoring Organization: Nassau County Bar Association
Location: Mineola, New York
Contact Information: Elaine Leventhal, eleventhal@nassaubar.org

Icon for Twitter account

Pro Bono and legal aid attorney resources - Pro Bono Net
Login