skip to content

Celebrate Pro Bono

Continuing Legal Education Programs

CLE programs are a traditional way for pro bono programs to recruit new lawyers, retain current volunteers. educate lawyers in areas of law in which the program's clients need representation and provide skills training for particular types of cases.


Past National Celebrations of Pro Bono featured many ideas for how to effectively use CLE to support various pro bono program objectives. Examples include:

CLE With A Meal


Event Title:
Volunteer recognition Luncheon and CLE

Sponsoring Organization: Judicial District Pro Bono Committee

Location: Santa Fe, NM

Contact Information: Amy LaFaver, alafaver@nmbar.org


Event Title:
Law Over Lunch CLE: Protective Orders in Virginia

Sponsoring Organizations: Greater Richmond Bar Foundation, University of Richmond School of Law, Central Virginia Legal Aid Society

Location:Richmond, VA

Contact Information: Tara Casey, tcasey@richmond.edu


2009 Events

Event Title:
Marion County Bar Luncheon and CLE
Sponsoring Organization: Marion County Bar Association
Location: Hamilton, Alabama
Contact Information: Harry Green, chg@centurytel.net


Event Title:
Legal Aid of the Bluegrass Appreciation Lunch with Justice Mary Noble
Sponsoring Organization: Fayette County Bar Association; Fayette County Pro Bono Program; Legal Aid of the Bluegrass
Location: Lexington, Kentucky
Contact Information: Jacqueline Duncan, jduncan@ajfky.org



Judicial Sponsored CLE


Event Title: Ethics Redux, A Two Credit Ethics CLE

Sponsoring Organizations:Volunteer Legal Services Project of Monroe County, Inc., ProBonoNY, NY 7th Judicial District

Location: Penn Yan, NY and Webcast

Contact Information: Linda Kostin, lkostin@wnylc.com



2009 Event

Event Title: New York State Unified Court System/Access to Justice Program Pro Bono Celebration Week Event
Sponsoring Organization: New York County Lawyers Association; New York State Unified Court System/Access to Justice Program
Location: New York, New York
Contact Information: Gloria Herron Arthur, garthur@nysba.org



Event Title:
Civil Gideon CLE
Sponsoring Organization:
Civil Gideon Task Force Judges Committee; Dorsey and Whitney; Minnesota State Bar Association
Location:
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contact Information:
Jennifer Eichten, jeichten@statebar.gen.mn.us


On-Line/Video CLE

Event Title: Pro Bono In New York Webinar Series

Sponsoring Organization: Pro Bono Net

Location: New York, NY

Contact Information: Tony Lu, tlu@probono.net


Event Title
: Public Film Screening and CLE on Immigration: Chasing Freedom

Sponsoring Organizations:Utah State Bar Pro Bono Project, Salt Lake City Film Society

Location: Salt Lake City, UT

Contact Information: Karolina Abuzyarova, probono@utahbar.org


2009 Events

Event Title:
Summit County Foreclosure Video Replay CLE
Sponsoring Organization:
Community Legal Aid Services Volunteer Legal Services Program
Location:
Akron, Ohio
Contact Information:
Sandi Costa, scosta@communitylegalaid.org


Event Title:
Pro Bono Week Training on Cultural Competency
(Free one hour online webinar.)
Sponsoring Organization:
Legal Aid Association of California; Public Interest Clearinghouse
Location:
National
Contact Information:
Vivian Chen, vchen@pic.org


Skills Training CLE


Event Title: Mediation: Helping Couples meet in the Middle Clinic and CLE

Sponsoring Organization: Mississippi Volunteer Lawyers Project

Location: Jackson, MS

Contact Information: La'Verne Edney, Esq.,ledney@mymvlp.net


Event Title: Mastering the Art of Advocacy

Sponsoring Organizations: Philadelphia VIP, Support Center for Child Advocates

Location: Philadelphia, PA

Contact Information:Sara Woods, phillyvip@phillyvip.org


2009 Events

Event Title:
Basic Training in VA Benefits Law
Sponsoring Organization:
Inner City Law Center
Location:
Los Angeles, California
Contact Information:
David Ackerly, dackerly@innercitylaw.org


Event Title:
Foreclosure Training
Sponsoring Organization:
Civil Justice Inc.; Pro Bono Resource Center of Maryland
Location:
Columbia, Maryland
Contact Information:
Jennifer Larrabee, jlarrabee@probonomd.org


Event Title:
Special Education Law Training
Sponsoring Organization:
Baltimore County Bar Association; Maryland Disability Law Center
Location:
Towson, Maryland
Contact Information:
Doris Barnes, doris@bcba.org


Event Title:
Use Your Legal Skills to Help Those at Risk
(In-Home Support Services Benefits Hearing Training)
Sponsoring Organization:
Bar Association of San Francisco
Location:
San Francisco, California
Contact Information:
Donna Willmott at donna@planningforelders.org


Targeted Substantive CLE

Event Title: Preparing U-Visa Applications

Sponsoring Organizations: Legal Aid Of North Carolina (Charlotte Office), Legal Services of Southern Piedmont, Mecklenburd County Bar

Location: Charlotte, NC

Contact Information: Mecklenburg County Bar, 704-375-6209


Event Title: Child Support 101 CLE

Sponsoring Organization: Access to Justice Institute

Location: Seattle, WA

Contact Information: James Tan, tanj@seattleu.edu



2009 Events

Event Title:Vicarious Trauma in Attorneys: Mental Health CLE for Attorneys in High Conflict Cases
Sponsoring Organization:
28th Judicial District Bar (Buncombe County; Mountain Area Volunteer Lawyers Program (MAVL); Pisgah Legal Services
Location:
Asheville, North Carolina
Contact Information:
Jennifer Foster, jennifer@pisgahlegal.org


Event Title:
Servicemembers Civil Relief Act Program
Sponsoring Organization:
San Diego County Bar Association
Location:
San Diego, California
Contact Information:
Alison Phillips, aphillips@sdcba.org


Event Title:
Nuts & Bolts Training on the Legal Representation of Children
Sponsoring Organization:
Delaware Office of Child Advocate
Location:
Wilmington, Delaware
Contact Information:
Molly Dunson, molly.dunson@state.de.us


Event Title:
An Introduction to Forms of Relief from a Criminal Record: Expungement, Sealing and Pardons
Sponsoring Organization:
The Chicago Bar Association; The Chicago Bar Foundation
Location:
Chicago, Illinois
Contact Information:
Kelly Tautges, ktautges@chicagobar.org


Event Title:
Ethical Issues in Pro Bono Work: Representing a Client with Diminished Capacity
Sponsoring Organization:
Hennepin County Bar Association; Volunteer Lawyers Network
Location:
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contact Information:
Martha Delaney, martha@volunteerlawyersnetwork.org


Event Title:
Civil Gideon CLE
Sponsoring Organization:
Dorsey and Whitney; Minnesota State Bar Association Civil Gideon Taskforce Judges Committee
Location:
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contact Information:
Jennifer Eichten, jeichten@statebar.gen.mn.us

Icon for Twitter account

Pro Bono and legal aid attorney resources - Pro Bono Net
Login