skip to content

Celebrate Pro Bono

Clinics

Clinics provide excellent opportunities for pro bono attorneys to meet one-on-one with low-income individuals in the community. Typically volunteers provide advice and consultation, direct representation and/or education/outreach services. Clinics can be general in nature or targeted to a particular legal need or client group.


Past National Celebrations of Pro Bono featured diverse strategies to effectively engage volunteers with clients in a clinical setting. Examples include:


Call-in Hotlines

Event Title: Legal Clinic and Hotline: Day One and Day Two

Sponsoring Organizations: Charleston Pro Bono Legal Services, South Carolina Bar Association, Charleston County Bar Association

Location: Charleston, SC

Contact Information: Virginia Howell, vzhprobono@bellsouth.net

2009 Events


Event Title: Call a Lawyer
Sponsoring Organization: Louisville Bar Association; Legal Aid Society Volunteer Lawyer Program; Louisville Pro Bono Consortium
Location: Aired on a local television show, WAVE-3, Louisville, Kentucky
Contact Information: Kate Lindsay, klindsay@loubar.org

2009 Events:


Event Title:
VLP Attorney on Law Line TV Show
Sponsoring Organization: Siniard, Timberlake & League PC
Location: WAAY 31/ABC, Huntsville, Alabama
Contact Information: Rich Raleigh, rraleigh@wilmerlee.com


Event Title:
State Bar Hotline
Sponsoring Organization: State Bar of Wisconsin
Location: Madison, Wisconsin
Contact Information: Jeff Brown, jbrown@wisbar.org


Substantive Law Focused Clinics

Event Title:MVLP Wills and Expungement Clinic

Sponsoring Organization: MS Volunteer Lawyers Project (MVLP

Location: Jackson, MS

Contact Information: La'Verne Edney, mvlp@mymvlp.net

Event Title:Business Law Brief Advice Clinic

Sponsoring Organization: LegalCORPS

Location: Minneapolis, MN

Contact Information: Michael Vitt, mvitt@legalcorps.org

2009 Events


Event Title:
Family Law Clinic
Sponsoring Organization: Madison County Volunteer Lawyers Program
Location: Huntsville, Alabama
Contact Information: Rich Raleigh, rraleigh@wilmerlee.com


Event Title:
Guardianship Legal Clinic
Sponsoring Organization: Orange County Bar Association; Public Law Center
Location: Orange, California
Contact Information: Dawn Miller, dmiller@ocba.net


Event Title:
Legal Clinic and Domestic Violence Prevention Awareness Seminar
Sponsoring Organization: Legal Aid Of East Tennessee (Johnson City); Tennessee Bar Association Young Lawyers' Division
Location: Bristol, Tennessee
Contact Information: Adam Moore, damoore@tndagc.org


Event Title:
Landlord-Tenant Clinic
(Eight identical clinics held on multiple dates and times.)
Sponsoring Organization: Legal Services of Northern California; University of the Pacific McGeorge School of Law
Location: Sacramento, California
Contact Information: Doan Nguyen, dnguyen@pic.org


Event Title:
Special Education Pro Bono Clinic
Sponsoring Organization: Advocacy Inc.; Texas RioGrande Legal Aid
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Contact Information: Ann Zaragoza, azaragoza@trla.org


Event Title:
Foreclosure Defense Clinic
Sponsoring Organization: Legal Aid Society/Put Something Back; Dade County Bar Association; Legal Services of Greater Miami
Location: Miami, Florida
Contact Information: Bruce Levine, blevine@dadelegalaid.org


Event Title:
Pro Se Divorce Clinic
Sponsoring Organization: Fayette County Pro Bono Program; Fayette County Bar Association; Legal Aid of the Bluegrass
Location: Lexington, Kentucky
Contact Information: Jacqueline Duncan, jduncan@ajfky.org



Clinics in Interesting Locations

Event Title: Ask a Lawyer in the Law Library
Sponsoring Organization: Anne Arundel County Public Law Library; Anne Arundel Bar Association Pro Bono Committee
Location: Annapolis, Maryland
Contact Information: Joan Bellestri, library@circuitcourt.org


Event Title:
Toledo Correctional Institution Reentry Clinic

Sponsoring Organizations: Legal Aid of Western Ohio (Toledo), Reentry Coalition

Location: Toledo Correctional Institution, Toledo, OH

Contact Information: Janet E. Hales, jhales@lawolaw.org


2009 Events:

Event Title: Project Homeless Connect
(Legal advice/intake clinic offered as one of many services to over 2,000 homeless people on a single day at the Bill Graham Auditorium)
Sponsoring Organization: Volunteer Legal Services Program of the San Francisco Bar Association
Location: San Francisco, California
Contact Information: Tiela Chalmers, tchalmers@sfbar.org


Event Title:
Case Placement Day at Family Court
Sponsoring Organization: Baton Rouge Bar Foundation Pro Bono Project
Location: Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Contact Information: Robin Kay, robin@brba.org


Event Title:
Ask-A-Lawyer Forum
Sponsoring Organization: The Jacksonville Bar Association
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
(The Ask-A-Lawyer Forums were held in various neighborhoods identified by the Jacksonville City Council.)
Contact Information:
Kathy Para, kathy.para@jaxlegalaid.org


Co-sponsored Clinics

Event Title: Senior Adult Legal Clinic

Sponsoring Organizations: Baker Donelson Bearman Caldwell & Berkowit, Caterpillar Financial Services, Nashville Pro Bono Program

Location: Nashville, TN

Contact Information: Lucinda Smith, lsmith@las.org


Event Title:
McGeorge School of Law: Eight Landlord Tenant Clinics

Sponsoring Organizations: Public Interest Clearinghouse, Legal Services of Northern California, McGeorge School of Law

Location: Sacramento, CA

Contact Information: Doan Nguyen, dnguyen@pic.org


2009 Events


Event Title:
Wills Clinic
Sponsoring Organization: Fayette County Bar Association; Legal Aid of the Bluegrass; Legal Helpline for Older Kentuckians
Location: Lexington, Kentucky
Contact Information: Jacqueline Duncan, jduncan@ajfky.org


Event Title:
Free Naturalization Clinic
Sponsoring Organization: Diocese of Kalamazoo Immigration Assistance Program; Kalamazoo County Bar Association Pro Bono Committee; Michigan Immigrant Rights Project
Location: Kalamazoo, Michigan
Contact Information: Kirsten Inquilla, kishinquilla@gmail.com


Event Title:
Evening Law Firm Clinic Staffed by Attorneys from Ulmer and Berne LLP
Sponsoring Organization: Legal Aid Society Of Cleveland Volunteer Lawyers Program
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Contact Information: Ann M. Porath, amporath@lasclev.org


Event Title:
Homeless Assistance Project Ask-A-Lawyer Night
Sponsoring Organization: Legal Aid Center of Southern Nevada Pro Bono Project. UNLV William S. Boyd School of Law's Public Interest Law Association (PILA), Friends in the Dessert (a local non-profit that feeds the homeless)
Location: Henderson, Nevada
Contact Information: Kimberly Abbott, kabbott@lacsn.org


Event Title:
Brief Advice Clinic Staffed by Alumni Attorneys of John Carroll University and McDonald Hopkins LLP
Sponsoring Organization: John Carroll University; Legal Aid Society Of Cleveland Volunteer Lawyers Program; McDonald Hopkins LLP
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Contact Information: Ann M. Porath, amporath@lasclev.org


Targeted Audience Legal Clinics

Event Title: Catholic Charities Legal Advice Clinic for Spanish-Speaking Clients

Sponsoring Organiztions: Catholic Charities, Nashville Pro Bono Program

Location: Nashville, TN

Contact Information: Lucinda Smith, lsmith@las.org


Event Title:
Trumbull County Domestic Violence Shelter Clinic

Sponsoring Organizations: Community Legal Aid Services, Inc Volunteer Legal Services Program (Warren)

Location: Warren, OH

Contact Information: Sandra Costa, scosta@communitylegalaid.org


2009 Events:


Event Title:
FOCUS on Senior Citizens Clinic
Sponsoring Organization: FOCUS on Senior Citizens
Location: Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Contact Information: Linda Mills, focusseniors@hotmail.com


Event Title:
Wills for Heroes Clinic
(The clinic was held in three locations: Huntsville, Jackson County, and Morgan County.)
Sponsoring Organization: Madison County VLP
Location: Alabama
Contact Information: Thomas Ryan, infohuntsville@epattorneys.com


Event Title:
Veterans' Legal Clinic
Sponsoring Organization: Legal Aid Society of Mid-New York (Utica Office); Oneida County Bar Association Pro Bono Committee
Location: Utica, New York
Contact Information: Renee Kolwaite, rkolwaite@wnylc.com


Event Title:
Family Forms Clinic en Espanol
Sponsoring Organization: Bay Area Volunteer Lawyers Program; Tampa Bay Hispanic Bar Association
Location: Tampa, Florida
Contact Information: Clara Rodriguez-Rokusek, crokusek@allenlawpa.com


Icon for Twitter account

Pro Bono and legal aid attorney resources - Pro Bono Net
Login