skip to content

Celebrate Pro Bono

Awards and Recognition

Recognition of the contributions made by volunteers is essential to the success of pro bono programs as a strategy for retaining current and recruiting new pro bono lawyers. There is an additional benefit that results from the positive publicity the program receives through its awards program.

Past National Celebrations of Pro Bono featured many recognition programs and events. Examples include:


Meals and Receptions


Event Title:
The Christopher W. White Access To Justice Awards Breakfast

Sponsoring Organization: Delaware State Bar Association

Location: Wilmington, Delaware

Contact Information: Susan Simmons, ssimmons@dsba.org


Event Title:
27th Annual Volusia County Pro Bono Awards Dinner

Sponsoring Organizations: Volunteer Lawyers Project; Community Legal Services of Mid-Florida; Volusia County Bar Association

Location: Daytona Beach, Florida

Contact Information: Larry Glinzman, larryg@clsmf.org


Event Title:
Cookies For The Cause

Sponsoring Organization: University of North Cafrolina School of Law Pro Bono Program

Location: Chapel Hill, NC

Contact Information: Nicholas Miller, nicholas.alvin.miller@gmail.com


Event Title:
Celebrating Service Luncheon and Pro Bono Fair

Sponsoring Organization: Atlanta Bar Association

Location: Atlanta, Georgia

Contact Information: Stefanie Aponte, saponte@atlantabar.org

2009 Events


Event Title:
Pro Bono Recognition Luncheon

(Three separate events were held, one each in Bowling Green, Paducah, and Owensboro.)

Sponsoring Organization: Kentucky Legal Aid -- Lawyers Care Volunteer Attorney Program

Location: Bowling Green, Kentucky

Contact Information: Jacqueline Duncan, jduncan@ajfky.org


Event Title:
Wine and Cheese Reception and Awards Ceremony

Sponsoring Organization: Baltimore County Bar Association

Location: Towson, Maryland

Contact Information: Jack Condliffe, jcondliffe@marylandfamilylaw.us


Event Title:
The "For the Good" Banquet

Sponsoring Organization: Campbell University School of Law

Location: Raleigh, North Carolina

Contact Information: Kevin May, ktmay0518@email.campbell.edu


Event Title:
Fifth Annual Oregon Pro Bono Fair and Awards Ceremony

Sponsoring Organization: Legal Aid Services of Oregon; Oregon State Bar New Lawyers Division; The Multnomah County Bar Association

Location: Portland, Oregon

Contact Information: Catherine Petrecca, cpetrecca@osbar.org


Sponsored by Bar Associations, Judiciary, Pro Bono Organizations, Law Firms or Law Schools

Event Title: Utah Celebrates Pro Bono 2010

Sponsoring Organization: Utah State Bar, Utah Legal Services, Pro Bono Initiative

Location: Salt Lake City, UT

Contact Information:JoLynn Spruance, jolynn.spruance@law.utah.edu


Event Title:
Pro Bono Awareness Lunches: Ten Locations

Sponsoring Organization: Greenberg Traurig

Location: Greenberg Traurig offices in ten cities

Contact Information: Caline Pinto, pintoc@gtlaw.com


Event Title:
Pro Bono Awards Reception

Sponsoring Organization: Inc; Mid-Shore Pro Bono; Mid-Shore Council On Family Violence

Location: Easton, Maryland

Contact Information: Sandy Brown, sabrown@midshoreprobono.org


2009 Events


Event Title:
Pro Bono Publico Awards

Sponsoring Organization: Milwaukee Bar Association

Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Contact Information: Laura Gramling-Perez, laura.perez@wicourts.gov


Event Title: Annual Homage to Pro Bono Volunteers by the Puerto Rico Bar Association

Sponsoring Organization: Colegio de Abogados de Puerto Rico; Pro Bono Inc. Servicios Voluntarios Del Colegio De Abogados

Location: San Juan, Puerto Rico

Contact Information: Luis E. Rodriguez-Lebron, probono@coqui.net


Event Title:
Federal Government Pro Bono Recognition Reception

Sponsoring Organization: DC Circuit Judicial Conference

Location: Washington, District of Columbia

Contact Information: Laura Klein, Laura.F.Klein@usdoj.gov or Kathleen Wach, KWach@milchev.com


Event Title:
SIU Law Student Pro Bono Celebration

Sponsoring Organization: Southern Illinois University School of Law

Location: Carbondale, Illinois

Contact Information: Mary Payne, mapayne@law.siu.edu


Event Title:
Minnesota Justice Foundation 27th Annual Celebration

Sponsoring Organization: Minnesota Justice Foundation

Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota

Contact Information: Janine Laird, janine@mnjustice.org

Icon for Twitter account

Pro Bono and legal aid attorney resources - Pro Bono Net
Login